top of page

Uncovering the Importance of MOC-4: Is it Just More Testing or a Commitment to Excellence?

Doctor earning MOC4 credits on tablet

When Maintenance of Certification Part 4 Improvement in Medical Practice (MOC4) was added to the requirements to maintain specialty certification, there was an initial pushback. Doctors are professionals who have probably been subjected to more testing than any other profession. One doctor noted on Reddit that it was giving him “residency flashbacks.”

On the other hand, the one thing patients could say about their doctor is they are good at taking tests, but there has been little formal on-the-job quality control compared to what has evolved in other professions. The basis for MOC-4 comes from the “science” of quality improvement – first demonstrated on the floors of the Toyota care manufacturing company by having employees identify potential barriers to quality and testing new ideas for improvement with repeated retesting to document any improvements.

Quality improvement has been applied to many other areas of performance. From that point of view, it is hard to argue how the performance of healthcare can be exempt from such a process of improvement, especially given the rapid changes in care standards that can be expected following formal training. Practice improvement is a commitment to continuous improvement and excellence in patient care, integrating learning and practice improvement, assuring integration of new knowledge into your panel of patients and, therefore, likely to be relevant.

In addition, quality improvement activities may also align with new value over volume-based payment or other reporting requirements, such as the Quality Payment Program (QPP) created by the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA).

Who Needs MOC-4?

Almost every medical specialty, including PAs, has an MOC-4 requirement. Nurse practitioners do not have a formal MOC-4 requirement but may be able to translate some of these activities into equivalent recertification requirements. Each specialty has its own set of point systems. For example, Pediatrics requires 50 points of MOC-4 activities every five years. However, MOC-4 activity credits can also be converted to CME credits required at the state level.

CHADIS: Your MOC-4 Ally

CHADIS stands out as a pivotal resource for physicians navigating MOC-4. It offers a suite of questionnaires that not only aids in the comprehensive assessment of patient health but also supports physicians in their quality improvement projects. By facilitating the collection of patient data and translating it into actionable insights, CHADIS enables physicians to identify areas for improvement, track the effectiveness of interventions, and, ultimately, contribute to their MOC-4 requirements.

The platform's design reflects a deep understanding of the MOC-4 process, providing tools that enhance patient care and reduce provider burden. With CHADIS, the narrative of MOC-4 shifts from compliance to contribution, allowing physicians to leverage their daily clinical experiences to fulfill their certification while elevating the standard of care delivered to patients.

In addition, CHADIS is a certified American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) MOC Portfolio sponsor providing MOC-4 for psychiatrists, family medicine doctors, pediatricians, physician assistants, and Internal Medicine doctors. As a Portfolio sponsor, CHADIS may be able to work with groups to create new MOC-4 offerings that are more relevant to your patients and challenges.

CHADIS makes it easy

  • No chart audit effort is required

  • Use CHADIS and attend webinars

  • QI graphical feedback is automatically collected from patient-generated data and sometimes prompts doctor decisions.

CHADIS offers eight Part 4 MOC Projects

  • Autism screening in your practice - 25 credits.

  • Developmental screening in your practice - 25 credits.

  • Asthma care - 25 credits.

  • Family Stress care - 25 credits.

  • ADHD care - 25 credits.

  • Patient-Centered Care - 25 credits

  • Depression - 25 credits

  • Substance Use - 25 credits

  • Collaborative Care via Psychiatry access program – 25 points

View here to see more details about the types of projects and credits earned (MOC4 and CME) without chart review effort.

Let’s Wrap it Up:

MOC-4 isn’t just a requirement; it’s an opportunity to deepen your impact in healthcare. With CHADIS by your side, you’re not just meeting standards but setting them, ensuring that your practice remains at the forefront of medical excellence and patient care.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page